Scotwest Credit Union is one of the largest credit unions in the UK, existing to provide ethical, competitive and fair financial services to anyone that lives or works within the West of Scotland*, Stirling, Perth & Kinross, Dumfries & Galloway and the Scottish Highlands.

*West of Scotland includes: Argyll & Bute, East Ayrshire, East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow, Inverclyde, North Ayrshire, North Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, South Ayrshire, South Lanarkshire and West Dunbartonshire

Scotwest offers loans, mortgages and savings accounts. The products are similar to those of Banks; however Scotwest is a financial mutual and therefore is member owned.

Every member has an equal say in the matters affecting Scotwest. It is democratically run with a membership elected Board of Directors who are responsible for the long-term strategic direction, development and success of Scotwest. There is an annual AGM and every member has a vote. Scotwest exists for the economic empowerment of its members and is committed to supporting the wider community through financial education and awareness. Scotwest aims to provide the highest standard of member service at all times.

Our Vision

Delivering better financial lives through caring about individual members and their happiness, growing together to become Scotland’s leading credit union.

Find out more about Our Vision and Values and what they mean for Scotwest Members here.


The Scotwest Board of Directors is an elected group of members who are responsible for the long-term strategic direction, development and success of Scotwest.

It reports to the membership at the Annual General Meeting. The Board, together with the senior management team, meets on a monthly basis to monitor Scotwest’s progress and operational success.  It also helps to shape the future and ongoing strategies required for the continued success of Scotwest.

Join the Scotwest Board

Scotwest would be delighted to hear from any members aged 18 or over who would be interested in helping with the continued development and success of our credit union by becoming a member of the Board. Directors serve on a voluntary basis and Board meetings are held monthly.

Find out more about obtaining this qualification and becoming a Board Member here.

Our Board of Directors

Cathy Jamieson Chairperson, Non-executive Director
Ian Turner Vice Chair, Non-executive Director
Alex Ibe Secretary, Non-executive Director
John Begg Non-executive Director
Barry Douglas Non-executive Director
Jackie King Non-executive Director
Paul Leonard Non-executive Director
Sarah Watters Non-executive Director
Stephen Wood Non-executive Director


Find out more about our Board of Directors here.