Help shape the development and continued success of your credit union by becoming a member of the Scotwest Board.

We would be delighted to hear from members who would be interested in undertaking tailored training for future involvement in the Scotwest Board of Directors.

The training is provided by Scotwest and can take up to 12 months to complete, after which you can go forward to be considered as a board member.

“Being a Director has improved my career prospects, given me more confidence and allowed me to develop new skills.I have gained a new perspective on personal finance and how it affects everyone.”
Caroline McMichael, Scotwest Director

Becoming a Board Member

Scotwest is run by its members for its members, each one being an owner of the business on a democratic “one member, one vote” basis. The elected Directors are responsible for developing strategy and maintaining the vision and values of the credit union, meeting on a monthly basis to monitor progress as well as reporting to the membership at the General Meeting.

Elections for Directors take place at the General Meeting and, prior to this process, candidates must complete the Directors’ training course and be approved by the Nominations Committee to stand.

Once elected, Board Members can remain in post for a period of three years. After this time, they can stand for re-election for one further three-year term.

If you are interested in joining the Scotwest Director Training Academy please email

“Any organisation is only as strong as its members make it, so I became a Director in order to contribute to Scotwest’s continued success.It’s not a huge commitment, but by joining the Board you can make a difference!”
Ian Turner, Scotwest Director

Our Board of Directors

David McRiner Chair of Board
Caroline McMichael Vice Chair of Board
Cathy Jamieson Secretary
John Begg Appointed Director
Barry Douglas Appointed Director
Alex Ibe Appointed Director
Jackie King Appointed Director
Paul McGowan Appointed Director
Ian Turner Appointed Director

Find out more about our Board of Directors here.